Imprimer

VOCATION

Background

The Museum of Yverdon and its Region is one of the oldest in the Canton of Vaud, dating back to the second half of the 18th century. It was in 1764 that the Yverdon-based pastor and geologist Elie Bertrand (1713-1797), one of the outstanding intellectual figures of 18thcentury Vaud, presented some mineral specimens and fossils to the Economic Society of Yverdon with the purpose of contributing to the education of his fellow citizens. Later, after his death, his entire natural history cabinet passed to the society, which had meanwhile changed its name to the Literary Society.
During the course of the following century the collections of this embryonic museum were augmented with dozens, then hundreds, of objects relating to natural and cultural history, with the idea of making  the widest possible range of knowledge accessible to the inhabitants of the region. During the last decades of the 19th century in particular the collections were enriched with items found during the archaeological investigations conducted in Yverdon and its surroundings by the museum’s curator, Louis Rochat (1824-1882).
Following the discoveries made in the castrum in 1903 under the direction of the cantonal archaeologist Albert Naef, it was decided to hand the museum over to a new association, one that would be independent of the Public Library (the former  Literary Society). This is how the Museum of Yverdon Society came to be created in 1904, and in 1923 the words “Old Yverdon” were added to its name. In 1953 it acquired the legal status of “officially recognised museum” of the Canton of Vaud. As such, it became the legal depository for all Roman archaeological material found in the former district of Yverdon, and for the material from all the other periods found in Yverdon and Cheseaux-Noréaz.
In 1998, as the collections threatened to sprawl out of control, the museum authorities decided to focus on regional archaeology and history. The natural science collections were therefore transferred to the relevant cantonal museums, while remaining the property of the association.
2001 saw another change in the history of the museum: the Foundation of the Museum of Yverdon was established, and given the task of running it. At the same time, the Association of the Friends of the Museum of Yverdon was created to provide support for the institution and its activities

Mission

In addition to its large collection relating to regional archaeology, the Museum of Yverdon and its Region also houses several thousand objects illustrating the cultural and art history of Yverdon and its surrounding area. For the most part these consist of pictures – drawings, water colours, prints, oil paintings on canvas, photographs and old post cards – plus items of everyday use and handcrafted or industrially produced objects. In addition it possesses some 400 finds from ancient Egypt plus a fine collection of ethnographical artefacts collected by residents of Yverdon who have lived abroad.
The museum can thus be seen as a repository for the material memory of the Yverdon region, which it has the twofold task of preserving and enriching. A further mission of the institution is to make this extensive heritage accessible to the public by putting on exhibitions, producing publications and organising educational activities. Finally, it is a research and documentation centre open to researchers, students, school children and any other interested person who asks to use it.

Responsibilities

Since 2001 the Foundation of the Museum of Yverdon has been legally responsible for the Museum of Yverdon and its Region. It is supported in its activities by the Association of the Friends of the Museum of Yverdon (AMY - www.amyverdon.ch).

Permanent staff
France TERRIER, director and curator
Corinne SANDOZ, archaeology collections curator
Sophie HEIM, administrator
Marc BATALLA, technician.

Council of the Foundation of the Museum of Yverdon
M. François BRUAND, chairman and representative of the Association of the Friends of the Museum of Yverdon (AMY)
Mme Nathalie SAUGY, deputy chairwoman and representative of the town of Yverdon-les-Bains
M. André RAIMOND, treasurer and representative of AMY
M. Lionel PERNET, representative of the Canton of Vaud
Mme Elisabetta GABELLA, representative of the town of Yverdon-les-Bains
M. François MENNA, representative of AMY
M. Frédéric ROHNER, representative of the district of Yverdon
M. Daniel WASNER, representative of AMY
Pascale FISCHER, designated member by the Council.

Management reports in French

LE VISITEUR 3/2012 (in French) [PDF Format]
LE VISITEUR 2/2011(in French) [PDF Format]
LE VISITEUR 1/2010 (in French) [PDF Format]
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2009 (in French) [PDF Format]
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2008 (in French) [PDF Format]
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2007 (in French) [PDF Format]
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2006 (in French) [PDF Format]
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2005 (in French) [PDF Format]
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2004 (in French) [PDF Format]
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2003 (in French) [PDF Format]
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2002 (in French) [PDF Format]

QUI LIKE MY ?

Back to top

Imprimer

VOCATION

Historique

Le Musée d’Yverdon et région compte parmi les plus anciens du canton de Vaud, puisque son origine remonte à la seconde moitié du 18e siècle. En 1764 en effet, le pasteur et géologue yverdonnois Elie Bertrand (1713-1797), l’une des figures intellectuelles vaudoises les plus illustres du 18e siècle, remit à la Société économique d’Yverdon quelques spécimens de minéraux et de fossiles dans le but de contribuer à l’édification de ses concitoyens. A sa mort ensuite, la totalité de son cabinet d’histoire naturelle revint à la société, devenue entre-temps Société littéraire.
Au cours du siècle suivant, cet embryon de musée s’enrichit de dizaines, puis de centaines de pièces d’histoire naturelle et culturelle dans une perspective universalisante. Lors des dernières décennies du 19e siècle en particulier, les collections furent nourries par le produit des investigations archéologiques menées à Yverdon et dans les environs par Louis Rochat (1824-1882), alors conservateur du musée.
Suite aux découvertes réalisées en 1903 dans le castrum sous la direction de l’archéologue cantonal Albert Naef, il fut décidé de remettre le musée à une société indépendante de celle de la Bibliothèque publique (anciennement Société littéraire). En 1904 fut ainsi créée la Société du Musée d’Yverdon et c’est en 1923 qu’on ajouta au nom de la société les mots «Vieil Yverdon». Selon des dispositions légales, l’institution acquit en 1953 le statut de «musée reconnu comme officiel» par l’Etat de Vaud. A ce titre, il est depuis lors dépositaire du matériel archéologique de l’ancien district d’Yverdon pour ce qui concerne l’époque romaine, et d’Yverdon et de Cheseaux-Noréaz pour toutes les autres périodes.
En 1998, pour contrer le développement tentaculaire des collections, les responsables du musée choisirent de recentrer ses activités sur l’archéologie et l’histoire régionales. Les collections de sciences naturelles furent ainsi déposées dans les musées cantonaux concernés, tout en demeurant propriété de l’association.
2001 marqua une nouvelle étape de la vie du musée. Cette année-là en effet, la Fondation du Musée d’Yverdon, organe désormais responsable de son fonctionnement, fut créée, tandis que l’Association des Amis du Musée d’Yverdon recevait pour mission de soutenir ses activités.

Missions

En plus d’une importante collection d’archéologie régionale, le Musée d’Yverdon et région conserve plusieurs milliers d’objets relevant de l’histoire culturelle et artistique d’Yverdon et de ses environs. Celles-ci comprennent essentiellement des pièces d’iconographie – dessins, aquarelles, estampes, huiles sur toile, photographies et cartes postales anciennes –, des objets-témoins de la vie quotidienne et des productions artisanales et industrielles. S’y ajoutent quelque 400 pièces de l’Egypte antique, ainsi qu’un bel ensemble d’objets d’ethnographie recueillis par des Yverdonnois ayant séjourné à l’étranger.
Le musée représente donc le conservatoire de la mémoire matérielle de la région d’Yverdon, dont il se doit d’assurer la préservation et de contribuer à l’enrichissement. Par ailleurs, l’institution a pour mission de communiquer et de mettre en valeur ce patrimoine varié auprès du public par des expositions, des publications et des animations à but pédagogique. Enfin, elle fonctionne comme un centre de recherches et de documentation pour les chercheurs, étudiants, écoliers ou toute autre personne qui en fait la demande.

Responsabilités

Le Musée d’Yverdon et région est placé sous la responsabilité de la Fondation du Musée d’Yverdon depuis 2001. Il est soutenu dans ses activités par l’Association des Amis du Musée d’Yverdon (AMY - www.amyverdon.ch).

Personnel fixe
France TERRIER, directrice-conservatrice
Sophie HEIM, administratrice
Marc BATALLA, technicien.

Conseil de la Fondation du Musée d’Yverdon
M. François BRUAND, président et représentant de l’Association des Amis du Musée d’Yverdon (AMY)
Mme Nathalie SAUGY, vice-présidente et représentante de la Commune d’Yverdon
M. André RAIMOND, trésorier et représentant de l’AMY
M. Lionel PERNET, représentant du Canton de Vaud
Mme Elisabetta GABELLA, représentante de la Commune d'Yverdon-les-Bains
M. François MENNA, représentant de l’AMY
M. Frédéric ROHNER, représentant des Communes du district Jura - Nord vaudois
M. Daniel WASNER, représentant de l’AMY
Pascale FISCHER, membre désigné par le Conseil.

Rapports d'activité

LE VISITEUR 3/2012 (format PDF)
LE VISITEUR 2/2011 (format PDF)
LE VISITEUR 1/2010 (format PDF)
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2008 (format PDF)
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2007 (format PDF)
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2006 (format PDF)
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2005 (format PDF)
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2004 (format PDF)
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2003 (format PDF)
Rapport d’activité pour l’année 2002 (format PDF)

QUI LIKE MY ?

Haut de page